OxenFree Shares New Song “Garbage Collector”

Brooklyn indie/garage rock band OxenFree are gearing up to release their new EP Another Land on October 13th via Sneaky Bear Records. Today they’ve shared the EP’s first single “Garbage Collector,” along with its killer animated music video that was directed by Rob Fleming and produced by Wet Cement Studio. OxenFree are new to me and I’m already in love.
Another Land was recorded with producer Andrija Tokic in his Nashville studio, whose other credits include Alabama Shakes, Hurray for the Riff Raff, Benjamin Booker and Clear Plastic Masks. The band credits Andrija with harnessing the vitality of the record, and bringing a sense of experimentation to the band, pulling the right gear from his stacks of organs and amps to get the live sound right in the room. The result on Another Land rears whirling organs, vocals playing in delay, fuzzy guitar leads, and a punchy rhythm section.  
Jeff Doyle, the frontman and primary songwriter was born in DC and reared in Virginia. Living in Charlottesville, he recorded his first EP with Mike Bishop of GWAR (the original Beefcake the Mighty and current Blothar), before moving to New York and starting OxenFree. He resurrected two of those songs when he moved to Brooklyn and recruited Christopher Burns (drums, Sydney), Sam Ghitelman (guitar, New York), Sean Padden (bass, New York), and Emilie Soffe (vocals and keys, Alabama) to round out the band. Three of the members grew up playing punk music at house shows, while Emilie grew up in the theater (she recently co-created and appeared in Ski End, which received praise from the New York Times). 


Upcoming OxenFree Tour Dates
8/11 – Brooklyn, NY – The Gutter
8/15 – Cincinnati, OH – 3117 Warsaw
8/17 – Cleveland, OH – Euclid Tavern
8/18 – Rochester, NY – Photo City
8/19 – Sprakers, NY – Limb Snapping Festival
9/23 – Charlottesville, VA – Twisted Branch Tea Bazaar
Follow OxenFree: Official Site // Facebook // Twitter // Bandcamp // Spotify // YouTube