Music Queer News

New Music: Empire Of The Sun – “Alive”


Pre-Order Launches Today For Album, Set For June 18 Release


Band Makes Its U.S. Television Debut On “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” On June 18



Today Empire of the Sun unveiled the cover art and track listing for its second album, Ice On The Dune. Astralwerks will release the album in the U.S. on June 18 and the band will make its U.S. television debut that evening, performing on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” Empire of the Sun – renowned for its larger-than-life live productions – will also play a series of U.S. festival dates, including the Electric Daisy Carnival, Sasquatch!, Electric Forest, Kanrocksas, Summerfest and the Made in America Festival.


Alive,” the album’s first single, is available now on the iTunes Store. The track can be heard below or on Soundcloud . The pre-order for Ice On The Dune is available now on the iTunes Store ( See below for track listing. Fans who pre-order Ice On The Dune on the iTunes Store will receive Alive” instantly.



In 2008, two of Australia’s leading musician/producers, Luke Steele (The Sleepy Jackson) and Nick Littlemore (Pnau), created a vision that seemed to come from an alternative reality – a post-apocalyptic psychedelic adventure known as Empire of the Sun. The resulting album, Walking on a Dream, went on to sell more than a million copies worldwide and contained the singles “We Are The People,” “Standing on the Shore” and the RIAA certified Gold hit “Walking on a Dream.”  The album helped spearhead the then-burgeoning EDM movement and earned eight ARIA awards and two BRIT nominations.

The adventure continues with Ice On The Dune, which Steele and Littlemore produced with the Walking on a Dream production team, Peter Mayes and Donnie Sloan. Recording took place in various studios around the globe London, New Zealand, New York City, Miami, Los Angeles and Sydney. Many top talents were involved in mixing the album, including Serban Ghenea (Katy Perry, Black Eyed Peas, Taylor Swift), Jason Cox (Gorillaz) and Mark ‘Spike’ Stent (Lady Gaga, Beyoncé, Depeche Mode).

Empire of the Sun is also known for its colorful and creative music videos, which have chalked up more than 40 million YouTube views. Check out the “Discovery” album trailer video below, which has already received nearly one million views.

Ice On The Dune Track listing

  1. Lux
  2. DNA
  3. Alive
  4. Concert Pitch
  5. Ice On The Dune
  6. Awakening
  7. I’ll Be Around
  8. Old Flavours
  9. Celebrate
  10. Surround Sound
  11. Disarm
  12. Keep A Watch


Empire of the Sun – Tour Dates


5/17-18 – New York, NY @ Citi Field – Electric Daisy Carnival New York

5/24-26 – Joliet, IL @ Chicagoland Speedway – Electric Daisy Carnival Chicago

5/25 – George, WA @ The Gorge Amphitheatre– Sasquatch! Music Festival

5/30 – Sydney, AUS @ Opera House – Vivid Festival

5/31 – Sydney, AUS @ Opera House – Vivid Festival

6/27-30 – Rothbury, MI @ Double JJ Ranch & Resort – Electric Forest

6/28-29 – Kansas City, KS @ Kansas Motor Speedway – Kanrocksas

6/26-7/7 – Milwaukee, WI @ Henry Maier Festival Park – Summerfest

8/9 – UK @ Wilderness Festival

8/11 – Budapest, Hungary @ Sziget Festival

8/31-9/1 – Philadelphia, PA @ Fairmount Park – Made in America Festival














Leave a Reply