Music Music Video

Loma Share Music Video for “Relay Runner”

LOMA SHARE VIDEO FOR “RELAY RUNNER” OFF THEIR SELF-TITLED LP (OUT FEBRUARY 16) + EXTENDED NORTH AMERICAN TOUR DATES

Loma, the new project comprised of Jonathan Meiburg, best known as the singer of Shearwater, and Emily Cross and Dan Duszynski of Cross Record, will release their self-titled debut album on February 16th via Sub Pop. The band just extended their first North American tour into May (find dates below).

A product of a joint pilgrimage around the globe by fellow touring musicians, Loma is a beautifully detailed and emotionally rich album “full of mystery and wonder” (NPR Music). After presenting the lead single, “Black Willow,” Loma now shared “Relay Runner” and have now followed up with the video, directed by Allison Beondé and Cross.

As Cross describes it, “This song is about transitioning from one state to another… specifically from the feeling of being boxed in and trapped to the feeling of freedom and liberation. It is about the ongoing drive to attain that movement. I think of the ‘relay’ as the endless series of versions of yourself that each hand off to the next version of yourself. Beyond that, I wanted to express unbridled joy–for being alive, for moving my body, for being able to build myself a human dog agility course from supplies I bought at the Home Depot.”

 

Loma

In creating Loma, the trio convened in a house in the Texas hill country over a few months during a strangely charged time. When they began recording, Cross and Duszynski were a married couple, but their relationship ended during the sessions—an atmosphere Meiburg found both challenging and inspiring—and the isolated house became the album’s muse. Except for Cross’s translucent voice in the foreground, there were no assigned roles on the album; each member of the trio played every instrument as needed. This feeling of freedom let buried energies find expression. Cross wrung catharsis from Meiburg’s lyrics and melodies, while Duszynski immersed himself in the engineering and mixing.

Via www.subpop.com

Loma is available for preorder from Sub Pop right here. North American preorders of the limited Loser edition from megamart.subpop.com will be available on clear vinyl with red and black swirlies (while supplies last). A new T-shirt design will also be available.

Loma Tour Dates + Ticket Links

(new dates in bold)

Fri. Apr. 6 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Sun. Apr. 8 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Bootleg

Wed. Apr. 11 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill

Fri. Apr. 13 – Portland, OR @ MS Studios

Sat. Apr. 14 – Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern

Tue. Apr. 17 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge

Thu. April 19 – Taos, NM @ Taos Mesa Brewing

Sat. Apr. 21 – Austin, TX @ North Door

Thu. April 26 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl

Fri. April 27 – Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight

Sat. April 28 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle Back Room

Tue. May 1 – Charlottesville, NC @ The Southern

Wed. May 2 – Washington, DC @ DC9

Fri. May 4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right

Sat. May 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s

Sun. May 6 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott

Tue. May 8 – Montreal, QC @ L’Esco

Wed. May 9 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison

Thu. May 10 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx

Fri. May 11 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas